Top Tip Tuesday – First aid kits

I noticed the other day how long it’s been since I last wrote my blog – wow, how time flies! And sadly I can’t even say that I have been using the time to travel – I have not managed to venture far outside of London so far this year. But that all changes tomorrow, as we leave for a week of sunshine in Montenegro!

Until I can put together some thoughts on my holiday, I thought I would update the blog with another Top Tip Tuesday.

top-tips

I was reminded of this tip just the other day when I was reminiscing about travelling with my sister back in 2004. At the end of our year around the world we found ourselves on a small island in Fiji, lazing in hammocks, eating fresh fish and sleeping in man-made huts.

2579_58565196502_6378047_n

The size of the spiders was something I had not been prepared for – some were the span of dinner plates and had huge yellow and black stripes. Trying to sleep in a hut with a thatched roof and the sound of scuttling will test even the hardiest of sleepers!

2579_58564246502_5291820_n

Finally – this is where the first aid kit tip comes in!

Simply – take one and pack it to the brim with safety pins, miniature sticky tape, plasters, and anything else that will help secure one thing to another. Because you’re highly likely to need it for emergencies that are not of the first-aid kind!

In Fiji, I spent a good 30 minutes sticking, pinning, and tying closed the holes in the mosquito net so that spiders and bugs couldn’t get inside. My sister (someone who can fall asleep instantly) thought I was insane but it was the only way I could close my eyes with confidence!

A standard first aid kit usually contains:

  • plasters – in a variety of shapes and sizes
  • sticky tape
  • gauze bandages – different sizes
  • safety pins
  • tweezers
  • scissors
  • alcohol cleansing gel
  • painkillers – like paracetamol
  • antihistamines
  • antiseptic cream
  • fluid replacement powders – for upset stomachs

Just remember, those big spiders and small stomach upsets are well worth it when you get to experience the best sunsets you’ve ever seen in your life!

2579_58563411502_3309651_n

Until next time travellers!

 

Leave a comment